May 27, 2010

Knox speaks: Claypool among new senate officers elected

The election results for the 2010-2011 Student Senate Executive Board were released on Tuesday, May 25, with junior Sam Claypool winning the presidency.

“I want to be better at doing what Senate is supposed to do,” she said. “This year, a lot of good ideas came to senate and we passed resolutions, but then they got left in a drawer somewhere. It’s our job to implement those resolutions.”

Claypool hopes to set a precedent for greater senate involvement across campus, including the selection process for the new college president and completing more large-scale projects.

“I’d love to see students get riled behind one issue—not necessarily a controversial one, but for example, getting us a Wallace Lounge,” she explained.

Claypool emphasized the importance of impartiality on the part of the Senate president, as well as the need of the entire executive board to work together.

“I…want to work on getting respect back from the rest of the student body,” she said. “I want to show [students] that we can accomplish things.”

Vice President: David Barton ‘11 with 212 votes

Michael Gasparro: 207

John Herron: 33

None: 56


-to revisit and revise the Senate Constitution and bylaws

-to make Senate elections timely and fair

“We have very diverse leadership with the new executive board. The biggest challenge next year will be getting a diverse group of people to work together.”

Communications Officer: Chris Bugajski ‘11 with 305 votes

Alison Ehrhard: 136

None: 56


-To provide minutes from Senate, Student Life Committee, and faculty meetings quickly and in an easy-to-read format

-To utilize the Senate website to help keep students better informed of what Senate is doing

“This year’s keyword [was] transparency, which is good. Senate’s job is to be the relay from higher-ups to the student population. We need to work on being as open as we can with campus.”

Treasurer: Gordon Barratt ‘12 with 256 votes

Max Galloway-Carson: 184

None: 66


-To give away more of the discretionary fund

-To make sure clubs understand how to apply for money from the discretionary fund

“There’s not a lot of information out there [on the discretionary fund]. I want to open up communication.”

Dining Services Chair: Sam Harrison ‘11 with 189 votes

Nicolas Osuna: 150

Rup Sarkar: 89

None: 44


-To hold open forums where students can give their suggestions to the Dining Services Committee

-To involve student workers and Dining Services staff in decisions that will affect Dining Services

“I’ve been working in Dining Services for three years, so I’m hoping that I can use what I’ve learned to help make the place better. We’ve got the comment cards, but I’m not convinced that they…lead to too much actually changing.”

Residential Quality of Life Chair: Katie Wrenn ’13 with 160 votes

Noel Sherrard: 137

Kenton Tilford: 116

None: 63


-To direct the Residential Quality of Life Committee to be proactive and creative

-To broaden interest in Special Interest Housing

-To install ceiling fans in residence halls for a sustainable way to cool things down

“I really want to do more to incorporate Special Interest Housing. I want to reach a broader section of the community.”

Safety and Services Chair: Justin Steele ‘13 with 230 votes

Angie Ostaszewski: 220

None: 26


-To work closely with Campus Safety to help keep students safe

-To increase transparency and knowledge of contentious issues, including sexual assault

“It’s a privilege to serve as Chair, and I look forward to making the upcoming year more safe than last year.”

Sustainability Chair: Firas Suqi ’13, unapposed


-To purchase more drying racks for use in campus housing

-To get more recycling bins

-To create a recycling center for old batteries and printer cartridges

“I think we can definitely build off of [past] conflicts. There was a lot of heated debate and secrecy in the executive board this year. We need to let people know what’s going on.”

Technology Chair: JC Weinberg ’13, unapposed

Efforts to reach JC Weinberg were unsuccessful.

Anna Meier

Bookmark and Share

Previous Post
The closeout curse
Next Post
Theft leads to ticketing


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *