Sports / October 28, 2010

Four inducted into Knox-Lombard HOF

The Knox-Lombard Hall of Fame, which acknowledges and commends former Knox athletes on their athletic achievements during their four-year careers, inducted its four newest members over Homecoming weekend.

The four new inductees are, left, Steve Varick ’73 (swimming); below left, Tom Neagle ’04 (football and baseball); below, John Liston ’58 (basketball); and far below, Mark Junk ’91 (basketball).

Varick lettered three times in swimming and remains the school record-holder in the 500 yard freestyle (4:55.8). Steve was voted Knox College Most Valuable Swimmer in 1974, 1975, and 1976.

Individually, he won several Midwest Conference events, never losing an event in which he swam at the Midwest Conference Championships. He was a member of the 1974-75 and 1975-76 conference champion teams and served as a captain both years.

Neagle was named first-team all-conference five times (twice in football and three times in baseball) and second-team twice (once in each). In his career, Tom had 193 receptions for 2,743 yards and 40 touchdowns, both current Knox records.

In baseball, he remains Knox’s career home run leader and ranks second in career RBIs. He also ranks second in career total bases and third in total at-bats and runs scored.

Liston averaged 20.6 points per game (ppg) and 14.2 rebounds per game (rpg) in the 1956-57 season. The Knox team that year went 14-8 as he was integral in leading his team to its first winning record in ten years.

Liston finished his Knox career with an average of 21.1 ppg. Even though his NCAA eligibility ran out after 13 games in 1957-58, he was still named All-Midwest Conference first team. He is also a member of the Illinois Basketball Hall of Fame.

Junk was an all-conference performer in all four of his varsity basketball seasons (1988-91), twice as a first-teamer. He was the team’s MVP his sophomore and senior years.

Junk remains third all time in Knox total points, with 1,646. He was the Dick Pearson Free Throw Award winner in 1990 and 1991 and is also third all time in Knox history with 181 three-point field goals.

The Knox-Lombard Hall of Fame members are selected by a five-member committee who reviews nominations, which are welcomed, on a yearly basis. Nomination forms are available on the Knox website and bronze plaques of all Hall of Fame inductees reside in a room named after Allan P. Christiansen, an outstanding athlete and long-time administrator. The room is located in the T. Fleming Fieldhouse.

Colin Davis

Bookmark and Share

Previous Post
Kaminski expounds on quasigroups in math colloquium
Next Post
Cross country hopeful heading to conference


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *