February 15, 2012

Weinberg elected as Senate Tech. chair

Interim Student Senate Vice President junior JC Weinberg has won the election for Senate Technology Committee chair by a wide margin. This was the second special election to fill an executive position this term.

Due to a scheduling conflict, former Technology Chair junior Johnathan Ebbers stepped down from the position last week. The special election ran from Monday to Wednesday, and Weinberg won with 100 votes, or 66 percent, over his only opponent, sophomore Senator Phil Bennett, who garnered 35 votes.

Weinberg will continue to serve as interim VP until spring term, when VP junior Michael Gasparro returns to campus. Weinberg will consequently serve as Technology chair.

Voter turnout for the election was 10.7 percent.

Charlie Megenity
Charlie Megenity (formerly Gorney) is a senior double majoring in political science and economics. He previously served TKS as managing editor and as co-news editor while working as the weekend reporter for The Galesburg Register-Mail. Over the summer of 2012, Charlie interned in Wisconsin with Patch.com, an online hyperlocal news source, where he covered the August 2012 Oak Creek Sikh temple shooting; he will return to Patch during the summer of 2013. He is also the journalism editor for Catch magazine.. Charlie has received three awards from the Illinois College Press Association for newswriting and design, including a first place award for front page layout. He was the 2013 recipient of the Theodore Hazen Kimble Memorial Award in Journalism for a feature story published in The Knox Student. His work has also appeared in The Huffington Post.

Bookmark and Share

Previous Post
One phase remains for Honor Code review
Next Post
Raising Knox faculty salaries


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *