Campus / News / September 27, 2012

Student Senate announces election results

Note: This has been updated to correct the sixth sophomore representative, Alexia Vasilopoulos. Originally, Joshua Voravong was listed, but it was changed due to an issue with Senate’s voting system, according to Senate President senior Michael Gasparro.

Student Senate has announced the results for its general election for student representatives, with an overall voter turnout of 45.6 percent. The general assembly will meet for the first time tonight at 7 p.m. in the Round Room, Ford Center for the Fine Arts.

Six representatives are elected from each class. Following are the results with vote percentages:

Senior class (24 percent turnout, six candidates)

Hatim Mustaly — 22.5%

Kristal Romero — 21%

Jill Krippel — 20%

Nathan Williams — 15%

Rup Sarkar — 11.5%

Brian Paul — 10%

Junior class (46 percent turnout, nine candidates)

Alex Uzarowicz — 19%

Kwesi Addo-Yobo — 15%

Maxwell Glassner — 13.7%

Alan Avita — 11%

Elizabeth Lerum — 10.5%

Nicole Holtzman — 9%

Sophomore class (53 percent turnout, 12 candidates)

Sam Perez — 12.5%

Payton Rose — 12.3%

Devin Hanley — 11.8%

Robert Turski — 10.5%

Olaloye Oyedotun — 10.2%

Alexia Vasilopoulos

Freshman class (58 percent turnout, 22 candidates)

Hiba Ahmed — 10.3%

Morgan Tonner — 8.9%

Jason Deschamps – 8.8%

Victor Schultz — 8.4%

Srichandra Masabathula — 6.8%

Natalie Donahue — 6.7%

Charlie Megenity
Charlie Megenity (formerly Gorney) is a senior double majoring in political science and economics. He previously served TKS as managing editor and as co-news editor while working as the weekend reporter for The Galesburg Register-Mail. Over the summer of 2012, Charlie interned in Wisconsin with, an online hyperlocal news source, where he covered the August 2012 Oak Creek Sikh temple shooting; he will return to Patch during the summer of 2013. He is also the journalism editor for Catch magazine.. Charlie has received three awards from the Illinois College Press Association for newswriting and design, including a first place award for front page layout. He was the 2013 recipient of the Theodore Hazen Kimble Memorial Award in Journalism for a feature story published in The Knox Student. His work has also appeared in The Huffington Post.

Tags:  elections Student Senate

Bookmark and Share

Previous Post
Presidential candidates offer their plans for job growth
Next Post
'Death to the Audience' proves lively experiment

You might also like


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *