National / Sports / The Prairie Fire / May 12, 2016

MWC football welcomes UChicago

The Midwest Conference just welcomed the University of Chicago as its newest addition for the 2017 football season.

The MWC is not unfamiliar to UChicago football, as the college rejoins the league for the first time since 1976-87. UChicago joins for a total of 12, teams and completes the six team’s in the North division, while Knox helps compile the six in the South. The respective winner of each division will then play for the conference title.

The Maroons are making their switch to the MWC from the University Athletic Association where they finished their 2015 season 6-4 under the direction of Head Football Coach Chris Wilkerson. The UAA is also a section of the NCAA Division III, its eight schools known for academic and athletic excellence, its members sometimes referred to as the “egghead eight”.

UChicago will join the existing 10 private, liberal arts college to join the MWC from Illinois, Iowa, and Wisconsin.The league consisting of Beloit College, Cornell College, Grinnell College, Illinois College, Knox College, Lake Forest College, Lawrence College, Monmouth College, Ripon College, and St. Norbert College.

Sam Watkins

Tags:  football midwest conference University of Chicago

Bookmark and Share

Previous Post
Athletes caught in flunk funk
Next Post
TKS Player of the Week: Drake Sykes

You might also like


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.